A Lesson in Bravery – Asking My Kids What They Think of Me

A few weeks ago, there was a post going around Facebook asking your kids to, without warning or explanation, answer a series of questions about you.  Truthfully, I was absolutely, beyond-a-doubt, terrified of the answers I would hear from them. I obviously love my children fiercely and tell them as much everyday, but in trying to raise them to be kind, compassionate, polite, and productive human beings, I find myself often doing and saying crazy things.  I was pretty sure that they think heir mom is a nut job.  But I took a chance, and asked them anyway.

R, age 9

What is something I always say to you? Be quiet
What makes me happy? Me doing a good job
What makes me sad? Us fighting
How do I make you laugh? Saying funny things like, “how do you like that, huh? huh?”
What was I like as a child? Um, really, really smart
How old am I? Mommy is 38
How tall am I? 5 feet
What is my favorite thing to do? Have family time
What do I do when you’re not around? Mommy works hard
What am I really good at? Working hard and helping out with the family
What is something I’m not good at? Taking breaks
What do I do for a job? She’s a lawyer
What is my favorite food? I’m not sure
What do you enjoy doing with me? I enjoy having fun with you, like shoveling with you

J, age 6

 

What is something I always say to you? Don’t play ball in the house
What makes me happy? When we don’t fight and are quiet
What makes me sad? When we aren’t listening
How do I make you laugh? When you tickle me
What was I like as a child? You were a good listener
How old am I? 38
How tall am I? Medium size
What is my favorite thing to do? Have fun with kids
What do I do when you’re not around? Work
What am I really good at? Helping us learn
What is something I’m not good at? That’s a tough one, oh I got one, you’re not good with hanging out with boys because you’re not used to it
What do I do for a job? Be a lawyer
What is my favorite food? Salad
What do you enjoy doing with me? I like going to the nail salon with you

M, age 4

 

What is something I always say to you? Be a good boy

What makes me happy? Um, giving hugs

What makes me sad? Punching

How do I make you laugh? Tickling me

What was I like as a child? Um, she used to play with me

How old am I? (Counting on fingers) 4 years old

How tall am I? (Holding fingers up about an inch) this tall

What is my favorite thing to do? Play with your toys

What do I do when you’re not around? read a book by yourself with Daddy.

What am I really good at? Practicing foot steps.

What is something I’m not good at? Kicking

What do I do for a job? Work. You do work.

What is my favorite food? Chicken and rice and beans

What do you enjoy doing with me? Driving

Takeaways – my kids know that I work hard.  And that I Iove spending time with them, even when things feels hectic and crazy to me!  I must be doing some thing right. 

NOTE: I asked my husband to answer these questions, too, but I will save that for another day!

Leave a Reply

