I AM BREAKING UP WITH YOU, SNOW!

Growing up in Miami, I really missed out on enjoying the 4 seasons, especially winter and snow.  While most people I know would have killed to be able to swim in a backyard pool or frolic in the beach practically year-round (we did get “cold” weather for about 2 weeks every December), from the time we moved to Miami from New York when I was 3, I HATED the boring, hot, swampy weather of South Florida.   I hated feeling like I needed a shower within a minute of stepping outside.  I hated not being able to have a wardrobe for each season.  I hated hot ass Christmas.  All I wanted was to see snow, let the snowflakes fall onto my tongue, to build a snowman, to make snow angels, have a snowball fight, the whole nine yards!

Unfortunately, the trips we made every Thanksgiving to New York to visit both sets of grandparents and cousins were always so disappointing because it NEVER snowed when we were there – it usually waited until the day we were leaving to start snowing, and that always made me want to cry.

Looking back, I think I was only really able to enjoy snow a handful of times between the ages of 3 and 18 – two ski trips to Colorado and that one other time, when I had a broken collar bone on a trip to New York and I couldn’t even play in the snow.  I felt so cheated!

My unrequited love of snow fueled my college application decisions for sure. I knew I wanted to go someplace where I could finally enjoy some snow.  Much to my parents’ chagrin, I only applied to 2 schools – Syracuse and Michigan – thinking that I would be guaranteed 4 seasons (more clothes, yay!) and a great deal of exposure to snow if I went to either.  I decided on Michigan bevause my dad took me too a football game on a beautiful fall day and I knew that was the place I was meant to be. Of course, once I got to Ann Arbor, I quickly learned that while the fall and spring were absolutely stunning, the winter not so much snow and was mostly just frigid.  In my 4 years there, I only recall a few blizzards, and mostly only light snow.  But I loved every second of my winters there, and even didn’t mind not being able to feel my fingers and toes or getting stuck in parking lots and parking spaces all over campus because my Ford Mustang wasn’t 4-wheel drive.

As I moved on to living in NYC for law school, I was able to enjoy snow even more.  For some reason, I saw a lot more snow in the 5 years I lived in NYC than I saw in college. I remember having snowball fights with cousins and just generally acting like a kid again.  It was so much fun and I really felt like I was home.  Back then, there was just something about snow that made me feel so calm, so peaceful, and so young and carefree.  I couldn’t get enough of snow and I was one of the few people I know who couldn’t wait for January snow to roll round.

But all good things come to and end, right? After a 5-year stint in Arizona, where I only saw snow once, on a trip to the Grand Canyon in November, we relocated to Virginia. And To my excitement, the day after we moved here, there was a blizzard. About a foot and a half of snow. I was so excited to share my love of snow with my then 2 year old son and 4 month old daughter. I was in hog heaven even after #snowmageddon a month later where we had over 2 feet of snow and we’re stuck inside the house with 2 young kids for 10 days.

It all started to change when I had school-aged kids and I quickly learned how wimpy this area is when it’s snowing. Once it was clear that a 1/2 inch of snow is cause for a state of emergency in this area, and after experiencing (suffering) cancellation after cancellation after cancellation of school due to cold weather and snow, I’m sad to say that my 38-year love affair with snow is OVER!  We officially broke up on January 27, 2016, after being snowed in for 5 days with my 4 kids a few weeks back during #blizzard2016.

I thought that my feelings were very clear and that our relationship, although longstanding and a source of great happiness over the years, was DONE.  So, you can imagine how I felt the other day when I heard the forecast for today would be anywhere from 1-6 inches of snow.  Ugh.  Snow clearly did not take the hint, and of course, there were shenanigans with my kids’ school because of that dreadful ex rearing his ugly head.  Thankfully, there was just a two-hour delay and I have just dropped everyone off to school…but the damage is done…Screw you, snow!

Leave a Reply

