“I don’t know how you do it…”

That’s probably the most common reaction I get when people hear I have four children AND work full-time outside of the home. Well, that, and “I can barely manage with two.”  Most people look at me either with awe, as if I am some kind of superhero minus a cape (but with some seriously FIERCE stilettos), or with pity, as if I am some kind of victim of the women’s lib movement gone wrong (“aww, it’s too bad that you HAVE to work!”)!

I’m neither – there will never be a Marvel comic book inspired by my life, nor am I an unfortunate soul because I work. As a working mom, I’m really not doing anything that millions of women before me haven’t done, or that millions of women after I’m long gone won’t do. I’m neither lucky that I get to work outside of the home nor unlucky because I don’t get to stay home to “raise” my kids (yup, I’ve heard that, too, as if my bringing in my  good government attorney salary plus doing everything else with my kids before and after I go to work is excluded from the definition of raising kids!). 

Truthfully, I didn’t know how I managed when I just had the one kid. Or when it was just the two kids. Or the three kids. I don’t know how I did it then and I don’t know how I do do it now. I’d be lying if I said it was as easier before there were so many kids. Quieter, yes. But it was challenging when I was just a working mom of 1, and it’s just as challenging now. 

I have no idea how having a full-time job, four children, a husband, and a dog, all of which demand my attention, usually all at once, even works. Being a working mom of four kids isn’t for sissies, that’s for sure! But, no more or less than any other mom of how-ever-many-kids, regardless of whether she stays at home or works outside of the home. 

It really doesn’t matter how many kids we have and whether we work, being a mom is THE most wonderful, awe-inspiring, difficult, frustrating, thankless, rewarding, and comical jobs I have ever known. It’s full ups and downs, highs and lows, and EVERYTHING in between. It’s the absolute best of times, it’s the absolute worst of times. Craziness and hilarity always ensues, usually at the most inopportune and embarrassing time. 
It ain’t pretty. But it’s my life. And I wouldn’t have it any other way. Buckle up and join me on this adventure, as I figure out how to properly raise my kids, while juggling a full-time job, trying to be a good wife, and friend. And not go insane. Or tell someone about themselves!

Leave a Reply

